Avocado Pasta + Zucchini Spaghetti

You’ll have to forgive me if I make even less sense then usual. I’m still a bit jet lagged after a wild and wonderful trip to Los Angeles. Also, Helsinki in November is really not that pretty. Dark, damp, empty… Yeah, I’d rather not be here. I’ve been trying my best to stay in that LA mindframe, and naturally avocados have been a big part of that process. This avocado pasta is very Californian in its ingredients, but it’s actually Finnish by origin.

Back in the fall of 2012 Alexander and Hanna Gullichsen released the recipe unto the world in one of their cookbooks and all of a sudden avocados were sold out in every grocery store around town for like four months. People really went berserk over this pasta.

Now I’ve never really appreciated anything surrounded by hype, so naturally I stayed away from avocado pasta until I was certain it wasn’t trending anymore. When I finally got around the actually trying it, I was instantly sold, and I really wanted to buy out every avocado in my area for the next four months. It really is that good.

Here I’ve combined the insanely delicious avocado sauce with another food trend that everybody was talking about a while back – zucchini spaghetti. It’s incredible how delicious and useful plain zucchini can be when sliced thin and quickly cooked in a pan and mixed with some pasta sauce. Definitely the best way to hide more veg into that daily diet!

Ingredients:

2 ripe avocados

juice of one lime

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil

a handful of fresh basil (+other herbs if wanted)

1 red chili, de-seeded and chopped

2 cloves of garlic, crushed

salt and black pepper

½ cup grated parmesan

½ cup grated pecorino

zucchini spaghetti:

2 zucchinis

a splash of olive oil

How to:

Start by preparing the avocado sauce. Peel and slice avocados, mix in a bowl with lime juice and olive oil. Add chopped basil and other herbs, chili, crushed garlic and a heavy helping of salt and pepper. Usually I would add a splash of the water the pasta was cooked in, but since we’re using zucchini noodles, add 2-3 tablespoons of hot water into the mix and finish with the grated cheese.

Make the zucchini spaghetti: slice the zucchinis lengthwise with a mandolin or a cheese slicer. Continue to cut into thin long strips, like spaghetti. Cook in olive oil on a hot pan for a few minutes, until the zucchini loosens up a bit and gets bendy. Mix in the sauce and serve with extra parmesan and fresh herbs.

 

One thought on “Avocado Pasta + Zucchini Spaghetti

Leave a Reply

