Super Healthy Green Smoothie

This smoothie exists for a very particular purpose. I’m going to Los Angeles in a few weeks and that means I’m pulling out all the stops to look good better than ever. Helsinki in November, I can get away with bulky sweaters and eating my fruits stuffed into cakes or pies and my vegetables hidden in ice cream. LA in November is entirely different.

If I’m gonna look my best, I need less sugar and more vitamins. That means that my daily diet goes from cake for breakfast to pills and powders, which incidentally is very similar to my Vegas diet. Green smoothies are a great way to sneak some extra veg and vitamins into the daily diet, and this one is chock-full of all the good stuff!

You’ve got cucumber bringing in vitamin K, potassium, magnesium and a hydrating boost; spinach, filled with vitamins A, B2 and B6, vitamin E, calcium and iron; parsley with vitamins A, B and C as well as a big boost for your immune system; and spirulina, a superfood algae filled with antioxidants that promote healthy skin and eyesight. The lemons, filled with vitamin C, and the cayenne help keep your metabolism running as fast as possible.

Ingredients:

1 cucumber

2 cups spinach

a bunch of parsley

1 tablespoon spirulina powder

2 lemons

a pinch of cayenne pepper

2 cups cold water

How to:

Mix chopped cucumber, spinach and parsley in a blender and puree. Add spirulina, juice of two lemons, water and the cayenne; puree until smooth. Enjoy cold!

Leave a Reply

