Ridiculously Easy Rhubarb Juice

Rhubarb is one of those things that apparently most of the world is not best friends with, but here in Finland they are extremely plentiful. I remember when I was a kid and our backyard was filled with these deliciously sour sticks. I would just pluck one out from the ground, dip it in sugar and snack on it like you would a carrot. Being a kid is the best. You just can’t dip as many things in sugar as an adult, and that blows.

You can still enjoy rhubarb as an adult, though. This summer I got my hands on a huge batch of fresh rhubarb and decided to finally try a legendary recipe – rhubarb juice. I got several recipes from friends and family, all varying from difficult to makes me cry. I ended up concocting my very own rhubarb juice recipe. A ridiculously easy one. I guess I just wanted the juice to be just like me.

Ingredients:

1.5 liters (or 1.5 quarts) fresh water

6 rhubarb stalks

a pinch of vanilla

1 lime

¼ to ½ cup sugar

How to:

Chop the rhubarb into one inch pieces and add to the water in a big pot. Add a generous pinch of vanilla, squeeze in the juice of a lime, and go ahead and toss the leftover peel in there as well. Bring to a boil and cook on medium low heat for 15 minutes. Let cool, add sugar bit by bit, testing in between for desired sweetness. Run through a sieve and enjoy ice cold!

Leave a Reply

